top of page
  • Writer's pictureJoseph Chen

A sketchy review of my past projects(1)

Sorry for taking so long, and thanks for all the fish. It's been quite a difficult month recently. Although I'm pretty sure time isn't going to grant me mercy in the near future, I'll manage to squeeze time to write something here.

I admit that the long gap between blog posts is partially due to my laziness, but my internship and side projects had gone busier than ever. WHICH reminds me,

I should start keeping a research blog / project log in case someone asked me what did I do on a specific day.

Anyways, let's hop in my first serious project: YehMidi -- an opensource framework for music visualization.


This is a short video showing its capabilities. It is filmed at National Taiwan University of Arts.

Video:

The demo part ends at 3:00.

This tool can detect a variety of chords, as well as trills and themes. Upon detected, the tool is able to show images or gifs, with up to 6 different movement animations.

I work on this project mainly in my sophomore year and the summer vacation following. The idea was originated by a music expert close to me. She has a masters degree on music, and her thesis was about visual music.

I would love to put the link to the github repository here, but the readme page looks too scrappy and I doubt I will have time to refine it. If you really want to take a peek, feel free to fire me an email.

That's it for today! There's a typhoon coming, so I'd better be prepared......

4 views0 comments
bottom of page